Advisory Board

The EEMI Advisory Board consists of noted academicians, industry leaders and ex-officials from government. Members have a strong interest in energy and/or environmental policy, science or technology and have expressed a willingness to help direct the efforts of EEMI in line with its vision. Semi-annually, Institute directors update the board members on EEMI activities and convene them twice yearly to discuss progress and to solicit and receive advice for advancing the EEMI mission.

Dr. Lilia Abron

President, PEER Consultants, Washington, DC

Alex Beehler Esq.

President Alex A. Beehler & Co., LLC. Formerly: Assistant Secretary of the Army, Installations, Energy and Environment


Suasn Bodine, Esq.

Partner, Earth and Water Law. Formerly: Assistant Administrator, Office of Enforcement and Compliance Assistance, USEPA

James L. Connaughton, Esq.

President and CEO Nautilus Data Technologies, Pleasanton, CA; former Chairman, U.S. Council on Environmental Quality

Dr. John D. Graham

Dean, School of Public and Environmental Affairs, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN; former Director, Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs, Office of Management and Budget 

Dr. Mary McKiel

President and CEO, The McKiel Group, and member of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Board of Directors; former Standards Executive, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

G. Tracy Mehan III, Esq.

Executive Director of Government Affairs, American Water Works Association, Washington DC; former EPA Assistant Administrator (Office of Water), U.S. Environmental Protection Agency; former Director, Missouri Department of Natural Resources

Carol Singer Neuvelt

Executive Director, National Association for Environmental Management, Washington, DC

Jigar Shah

SEAS Visiting Scholar Dr. Jigar Shah has extensive experience at the International Finance Corporation, where his role was to facilitate investments related to climate business for clients in the manufacturing sector. Dr. Shah also previously was the Executive Director of the Institute for Industrial Productivity, an international non-profit organization with a mission to decarbonize industry. He has a PhD degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of Florida and has taught graduate courses on clean energy as an Adjunct Professor at McMaster University in Ontario, Canada and the George Washington University.

Mitchell F. Stanley

President, National Center for Sustainable Development; former Chairman of the Board of WebBank Corporation; former Deputy Administrator U.S. Small Business Administration; former Chief of Staff to Secretary of Commerce Malcolm Baldrige; former Reagen White House staffer

John Paul Woodley, Jr., Esq. 

Principal, Advantus Strategies; former Assistant Secretary of the Army (Civil Works); former Secretary of Natural Resources, Commonwealth of Virginia